By inputting your birthdate and clicking Enter, you confirm that you are of legal age to consume cannabis in your state of residence.
A patient needs an in-person visit with a registered provider with whom the patient has a “bona fide provider-patient relationship”. If the patient meets the provider’s criteria for treatment with medical cannabis, the provider will issue a certification.
Maryland law defines this term. Essentially it is a treatment or counseling relationship between a provider and patient in which the provider reviews the patient’s relevant medical records, completes an in-person assessment of the patient’s medical history and current medical condition, creates and maintains medically standardized records, expects to monitor patient program, and takes any medically indicated action to follow up.
If the patient has a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that causes: cachexia, anorexia, waiting syndrome, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, glaucoma, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), or another chronic medical condition which is severe and for which other treatments have been ineffective.
After the provider has examined the patient and the patient’s records, the provider may issue the patient a written certification immediately. Please log into your Onestop account to verify your allotment is available, then the patient may go visit The Apothecarium Dispensary in Cumberland or Salisbury.
If your patient ID card is lost, stolen or damaged, you must login to your OneStop account and report it. Once logged in, select “My Dashboard”. Click on your MCA registration ID Number under “My Licenses, Permits, and Registrations”. Then click on the green “Actions tab”. Click on “Order an ID Card”. There will be a replacement card fee of $50.
A legal patient may travel to any location in the state of Maryland (other than federal government property when in possession of medical cannabis). Possession of cannabis is a violation of federal law and Maryland residents should carefully read the current state statutes regarding the use of medical cannabis and be aware that taking cannabis across State lines is a federal offense. Cannabis is also illegal on federal government property. The State of Maryland laws cannot authorize you to travel to other states, jurisdictions or countries with this medicine in your possession.
A patient may designate up to two persons as caregivers.
Children who meet their provider’s criteria for treatment can become legal patients in Maryland. However, children must have a parent or guardian serve as a caregiver. Please click here for more information.
A patient should notify the MCA within 3 days of address change. Click here to fill out the proper form.
A patient may obtain medical cannabis from a dispensary of their choice. The patient’s certification will be recorded in the MCA’s database and can be confirmed by any licensed dispensary.
Patients do not have to disclose that they possess medical cannabis and do not have to consent to a search. However, if a search is conducted and medical cannabis is found, the patient should present their patient ID card or direct law enforcement to our database.
Health insurers are not required to cover the cost of medical cannabis.
Not at this time.
There are no reduced fees for seniors.
That is a medical question that the MCA cannot answer. You need to discuss this question with your provider.
Maryland law does not prevent an employer from testing for use of cannabis (for any reason) or taking action against an employee who tests positive for use of cannabis (for any reason).
Yes. After a patients application is approved, the patient is issued a 16 character Patient ID number. This number should be given to certifying provider.
Caregivers must be 21 years old or older.
A patient can order an ID card by logging into their account through the Maryland OneStop website however, a patient may only order an ID card after their patient application has been approved and they have received certificaiton from a registered provider.
Possession and use of medical cannabis is a violation of the federal Controlled Substances Act, and compliance with Maryland State medical cannabis laws is not a legal defense to a violation of federal law. The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) has the authority to enforce federal cannabis laws, even in states with authorized medical cannabis programs. However, federal budget legislation passed in 2014, subject to reauthorization each year, prohibits the DOJ from interfering with the implementation of State medical cannabis programs. Courts have consistently interpreted this statutory provision to protect “individuals who engaged in conduct permitted by state medical marijuana laws and who fully complied with such laws.” U.S. v. McIntosh, 833 F.3d 1163 (9th Cir. 2016).
No. Federal law bars medical cannabis patients from purchasing or possessing firearms. The Federal Gun Control Act, 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(3), prohibits any person who is an ‘unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802)’ from shipping, transporting, receiving or possessing firearms or ammunition. Marijuana is listed in the Controlled Substances Act as a Schedule I controlled substance, and there are no exceptions in Federal law for marijuana purportedly used for medicinal purposes, even if such use is sanctioned by State law.
Medical cannabis patient information contained in Maryland’s patient registry is considered confidential, protected health information and held in compliance with federal HIPAA regulations by the Maryland Cannabis Administration. However, the Maryland State Police query individuals who seek to purchase a gun about their status as a medical cannabis patient and bar those who disclose that they are medical cannabis patients from making the transaction. Individuals who provide false information by failing to disclose that they are a medical cannabis patient when purchasing a firearm are in violation of federal statute, punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of as much as $250,000.
Beginning October 1, 2022 the charge for a Regular Patient Application was reduced to $25. The fee covers the payment for the Patient Registration and ID Card. The Patient Registration Expiration date has been extended to 6 years. The $25 fee is non-refundable.**
The Application fee is waived for Patients enrolled in the Maryland Medicaid Program (Maryland Medical Assistance Program) and the VA Health Care Program (Veterans Affairs Maryland Health Care System) Please click on the link below for the requirements
The certification issued by a provider for a patient identifies the amount of dried flower and THC that the patient may purchase in a 30-day period. The limit is calculated as a ROLLING 30-day limit- not by calendar month. Please click here for Purchasing Limits
Smoking cannabis (and hemp) is prohibited in any public place. This includes outdoor spaces and indoor spaces open to the public including parks, streets and sidewalks, bars and restaurants, public transportation (e.g, buses, vans, trains, taxicabs, limousines) and indoor places of employment. Because cannabis remains illegal at the federal level, you also may not possess cannabis on any federal property such as national park.
Using cannabis while driving (by a driver or passenger) and impaired driving remains illegal under Maryland law. Law enforcement officers can make a cannabis DUI arrest if they observe impairment using a standard field sobriety testing (roadside test) method. Let’s keep Maryland safe and plan ahead before using cannabis. Learn more with this Cannabis and Driving Don’t Mix fact sheet.
Like tobacco and alcohol, the legal purchase age for cannabis in Maryland is 21 or older. Valid, government-ID (driver’s license, passport) is required at the point-of-sale. Licensed dispensaries are the only place to legally buy cannabis in Maryland.
Cannabis remains illegal under federal law, and you may not carry or transport cannabis over state lines. It remains illegal to leave (or enter) Maryland with any cannabis products – medical or adult-use (non-medical) products. Mailing cannabis in or out of the State is illegal.
Cannabis products may be purchased from licensed dispensaries. Cannabis products are subject to a 9 % sales tax (the same as alcohol).
A person may purchase cannabis or cannabis products from a licensed dispensary if they display a government-issued photo ID at the point-of-sale that demonstrates they are 21 years or older (driver’s license, state ID card, passport/passport card, military ID, tribal card). Individuals will only be able to purchase up to the personal use amount authorized under law. This amount is up to 1.5 ounces of cannabis flower (including joints and pre-rolls), 12 grams of concentrated cannabis (vape products), or a total amount of edible cannabis products that does not exceed 750 mg THC.
HB 556 and SB 516 established a new agency, the Maryland Cannabis Administration, to regulate cannabis businesses in the State. Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission staff transitioned to the new agency to provide continuity of operations for businesses and patients in the medical program, and new regulations governing health, safety and security are supplemental to the existing medical cannabis program regulations.
The new law does not directly impact the medical cannabis program. Patients may continue to obtain medical cannabis from licensed dispensaries, and individuals 18 years or older may register to participate in the program. The new law specifically establishes patient-only operating hours or dedicated service lines for patients, product availability, and other accommodations to ensure that registered patients continue to be able to access necessary medication.
The legislation establishes at least two separate rounds of licensing. The first round is scheduled to be held in the fall of 2023, with the second round after May 1, 2024. Prior to the first application round, the new Maryland Cannabis Administration will conduct extensive outreach and education on the licensing process and cannabis industry. A mix of in-person and virtual events will provide interested individuals and businesses with information on how to apply and application requirements, and connect potential applicants with industry experts to learn more about the cannabis industry. If you would like to be notified of when the applications will be made available, click here to submit your contact information. Outreach will begin sometime after July 1.
Click for additional information on the anticipated timeline for the new adult-use cannabis licensing process.
Maryland voters approved a ballot referendum in the 2022 General Election to allow use of cannabis by adults 21+ (hence, “adult-use”) starting July 1, 2023. During the 2023 legislative session, the General Assembly passed legislation that provided a framework for implementing legal adult-use sales, including a licensing and taxation framework (see House Bill 556/Senate 516). The Cannabis Reform Act, which took effect immediately upon Governor’s signature on May 3, 2023, authorized existing licensed dispensaries to convert their licenses for dual medical and adult-use sales by July 1, thereby creating a legal adult-use marketplace as of July 1, 2023. The Act also authorized the Maryland Cannabis Administration to issue additional grower, processor, and dispensary licenses, and new incubator licenses over two licensing rounds.
The legislation prioritizes equity in cannabis licensing and seeks to ensure that individuals and communities harmed by cannabis prohibition can access the economic opportunities associated with cannabis legalization. Specifically, it prioritizes diversity and equity in licensing by:
Establishing exclusive social equity applicant licensing rounds for individuals and businesses from communities disproportionately harmed by cannabis prohibition and enforcement;
Providing access to capital – in the form of grants and no-interest loans – and technical application and operational assistance to businesses that qualify as social equity applicants;
Establishing new license categories (e.g., on-site consumption, incubator) and classes of licenses (e.g., micro businesses) that require less capital to operationalize;
Eliminating non-violent cannabis convictions as a barrier to employment in the cannabis industry;
Creating an Office of Social Equity that will assist social equity applicants and small, minority- and women-owned businesses apply for licenses and obtain financing for their businesses; and
Eliminating barriers to entry for small businesses, such as property requirements, high application fees, and competitive scoring applications.
Additionally, the laws passed in 2022 and 2023:
Establish a process for expungement of cases in which possession of less than 10 grams of cannabis is the only charge (along with additional expungement provisions),
Increase the amount of cannabis a person may possess that is subject to a civil fine rather than criminal penalty from 10 grams to 2.5 ounces (effective January 1, 2023);
Establish new funds including a business assistance fund to increase participation in the cannabis industry by small, minority and women-owned businesses and a community reinvestment and repair fund, which provides monies to communities disproportionately impacted by cannabis prohibition and enforcement. Approximately thirty percent of adult-use sales tax revenue (less MCA operating costs) goes to the community reinvestment and repair fund.
Yes, the use and possession of cannabis remains illegal under the Federal Controlled Substances Act of 1970 (CSA). States may allow adult use within their jurisdictions, but interstate transport is still prohibited under federal law. Cannabis possession also remains
unlawful on federal land (including federal buildings, national parks, military bases, etc.), even within states that have legalized it.
As of July 1, 2023, any product containing more than 0.5 mg THC per serving and 2.5 mg THC per package, with the exception of certain full spectrum tincture products, may only be sold in a licensed cannabis dispensary. This requirement extends to all THC isomers, including delta-8, delta-9, and delta-10.
Effective July 1, 2023, a person 21 years or older may lawfully possess and use cannabis.
A medical card is still needed to purchase cannabis sold as part of the medical cannabis program. Learn more about the Medical Cannabis Program here.
Only individuals who are registered, certified Maryland medical cannabis patients and caregivers can purchase products under the parameters of Maryland’s Medical Cannabis Program. However, individuals from out-of-state who are at least 21 years of age with government-issued ID will be permitted to purchase adult-use cannabis from licensed dispensaries in Maryland beginning July 1, 2023. Interstate transport of cannabis is still prohibited under federal law.
No, members of the military are not exempt. Only persons aged 21 years or older may use or possess non-medical cannabis. Other federal restrictions on the use or possession of cannabis may apply to members of the military.
Adults 21 years and older may possess up to 1.5 ounces of cannabis flower, up to 12 grams of concentrated cannabis; or a total amount of cannabis products that does not exceed 750 mg of THC. This is known as the “personal use amount.”
A person under 21 years of age may not possess or use non-medical cannabis. Possession of 2.5 ounces or less (a civil use amount) may result in a fine, a court order to attend drug education programming, and referral for assessment and/or treatment of substance use disorder. Possession of more than 2.5 ounces may result in criminal penalties.
A person 21 years or older may lawfully cultivate up to two plants in their home, out of public view. Likewise, a household may cultivate a maximum of two plants, regardless of how many persons over age 21 live in the residence. Individuals under 21 are not permitted to cultivate cannabis plants. In addition, medical patients registered with the Maryland Cannabis Administration can cultivate two additional plants, for a total of four plants; not to exceed more than four plants in a given residence. Landlords and property owners can prohibit growing cannabis on their properties.
Adults 21+ can use cannabis in private homes and private property. However, landlords and management companies can prohibit cannabis use. If you rent, be sure to read your rental agreement. Most hotels do not permit guests to smoke cannabis in their rooms. Ask the hotel reception desk about their policy. If you stay in vacation rental, check with the property owner about their rules for your stay.
The Cannabis Reform Act does not address cannabis use or impairment in the workplace. Individuals remain subject to any existing laws and workplace policies on substance or cannabis use (e.g., federal laws prohibiting the operation of commercial transport vehicles while impaired, or workplace policies prohibiting cannabis use specifically and/or impairment generally). The legislation does not address the use of employer drug screening of employees or prospective employees. Your employer or prospective employer can provide more specific information about its policies regarding substance use in the workplace.
In addition to prohibiting cannabis use and possession for individuals under 21 years of age, the Cannabis Reform Act includes public health best practices to prevent youth access and to reduce the appeal of cannabis to youth. These include marketing and advertising restrictions, age verifications at the point of sale, child-resistant packaging, and restrictions on sales near schools and youth-serving locations like libraries and parks.
Cannabis use can harm the health and wellbeing of youth and young adults. Cannabis use may permanently affect the developing brain, especially with regular or heavy use.2 Parents, caregivers, and trusted adults should discourage youth and young adults from using cannabis; should not consume cannabis in front of youth or young adults; and should always keep cannabis out of sight and locked if it is stored in the home. See Storing Cannabis Safely fact sheet.
The health impacts of cannabis use are not fully known. Studies have linked cannabis use, especially frequent use with cannabis use disorder and addiction, anxiety and paranoia,9 and psychosis 10. People who smoke or vape cannabis regularly, even without tobacco, are more likely to experience irritation or inflammation in the lining of the lungs. 11,12,13 Secondhand cannabis smoke may also pose health risks as it has been found to contain many of the same toxic and cancer-causing chemicals in tobacco smoke.14
A product being legal does not mean it is safe for anyone to use. Much is unknown about the short and long-term effects of cannabis use during pregnancy and while breastfeeding. The American College of Obstetrics and Gynecologists and the American Academy of Pediatrics recommend NOT using any type of cannabis (including CBD) while pregnant or breastfeeding. See Cannabis and Pregnancy & Breastfeeding fact sheet.
Using alcohol and cannabis at the same time can result in greater impairment than when using either one alone, which can lead to greater risk for personal harm (and harm to others).15 Tobacco and cannabis used together increases your exposure to chemicals that may harm the lungs and cardiovascular system (heart and blood vessels).16 Cannabis may alter the effects and/or potency of prescription medication.17 Always talk with your doctor about any medications you are taking or thinking about taking and the possible side effects when mixed with other substances including cannabis.
1 State Medical Cannabis Laws (ncsl.org)
2 Teens | Health Effects | Cannabis | CDC
9 National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The health effects of cannabis and cannabinoids: the current state of evidence and recommendations for research. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press; 2017.
10 Valkow ND, Swanson JM, Evins AE, et al. Effects of cannabis use on human behavior, including cognition, motivation, and psychosis: a review. JAMA Psychiatry. 2016;73(3):292-297
11 Tashkin DP, Simmons MS, Tseng C-H. Impact of changes in regular use of cannabis and/or tobacco on chronic bronchitis. COPD: Journal of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease. 2012;9(4):367-374
12 Wang X, Derakhshandeh R, Liu J, et al. One minute of cannabis secondhand smoke exposure substatially impairs vascular endothelial function Journal of the American Heart Association. 2016;5(8):e003858.
13 National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The health effects of cannabis and cannabinoids: the current state of evidence and recommendations for research. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press; 2017
14 Moir D, Rickert WS, Levasseur G, et al. A comparison of mainstream and sidestream cannabis and tobacco cifatette smoke produced under two machine smoking condition Chemical Research in Toxicology. 2008;21(2);494-502
15 Yurasek AM, Aston ER, Metrik J. Co-use of alcohol and cannabis: A review. Current Addiction Reports. 2017;4(2): 184-193
16 Meier E, Hatsukami DK. A review of the additive health risk of cannabis and tobacco co-use. Drug and Alcohol Dependence. 2016;166:6-12
17 Antoniou T, Bodkin J, Ho JM. Drug interactions with cannabinoids. CMAJ. 2020; 192(9):E206.
🌿🔜 Stay tuned for our budding loyalty program! 🌿🔜
We’re rolling up something special for you! While we don’t have a loyalty program just yet, we’re excited to announce that we’re in the works of creating one that’ll blow your mind! 🚀🌬️
Cruise on over to our Cumberland location and experience the ultimate convenience: a drive-thru that’s blazing the trail! 🚀🔥
You must be 21+ years old to make a cannabis purchase. Anyone under the age of 21 must be a medical patient or accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
We will have dedicated Patient and Caregiver only parking spots. Check out your preferred Apothecarium store page for more parking details
Our patients will always be our top pririty. We have dedicated patient lines to prioritize you. You can also order online and pick up in the drive thru or using curbside pick up depending on the location. Check out the store details to see which option is available.
All sales of Adult Use cannabis and non-cannabis products are final. No returns allowed.
All sales of medicated products are final. Returns of unopened/unused product are subject to manager’s discretion. All sales of non-medicated products are final.
20% Birthday (Valid on patient’s birthday, the day before and the day after.)
20% Veterans (Valid identification required.)
15% Seniors (60+)
15% Government Assistance (Must show documentation of Award Letter.)
*All non-medicated products are not eligible for this discount.
Yes! Visit our website and select the store you want to order from. Fill up your basket and pick up in store.
Yes, The Apothecarium has set up a telephone hotline to help answer Patient and Caregivers with any questions regarding our patient access plan. To speak with a Wellness Associate, please call (717) 610-4165
MD State Adult Use Cannabis sales tax: 9%
Medical Cannabis is not taxed